Association of Indian Universities’ five-day North Zone Inter-university Badminton Championship (Men)-2019-20 concluded at Shanti Devi Mittal Indoor Sports Complex of LPU, where Punjabi University Patiala lifted winning trophy as Zonal Champion. From the other matches played on the last day of the tournament, University of Delhi is declared runner up; Panjab University Chandigarh second runner up; and, MDU Rohtak remained at 4th place in the zone. These four teams will now participate for national-level competitions.


For the competitions held today for first two positions, Punjabi University Patiala (PUP) defeated University of Delhi (DU) by 3-1 to grab the first position. In the first match for single players, Nitin of PUP beat Paras Mathur of DU in two sets by 21-18 and 21-12; In Doubles, Kapil & Shubham Yadav of PU Patiala beat Dhruv Rawat & Nikhil Mehlawat in three sets by scoring 21-19, 12-21 and 21-19; whereas, in the third set of singles again, Shubham Yadav of PU Patiala beat Nikhil Mehlawat in three sets by 16-21, 24-22 and 21-19. The University of Delhi won only one singles match where its Dhruv Rawat defeated Himanshu Tiwari of PUP by 21-15 and 21-15.  The match scores are self-relevant about the toughness in a fight during all of these matches.


While handing over the prestigious trophies to the respective position holders, LPU Director General Er HR Singla invoked all players to continue improving upon their present performances. He also inspired the players by saying that participation in the matches with true sportsmanship counts much than winning or defeat. While sharing their experiences at LPU campus Tournament Director Mahesh Sharma, Sports Officer Harjinder Singh and visiting managers, referees, students appreciated LPU’s organizing potentiality unanimously, and also admired LPU’s Department of Sports for smooth conduction of the tournament.


Highlighting, LPU was designated as the organizing body of the championship by Association of Indian Universities (New Delhi), where 59 teams from different states of the zone participated.