The participation and contribution of students of Lovely Professional University in sports is nothing new to be talked about. Although it’s worth mentioning again and again, LPU’s tremendous participation in the Tokyo Olympics and Paralympics 2020 has left the entire world stunned. Not just that, LPU students have shined in other platforms as well including Kabaddi, Kho-Kho, taekwondo, etc. For more details, you can go through the page of Happenings@LPU under the column of Sports and view all the achievements that LPU students have acquired to date.

Another LPU student and para-athlete Karandeep Kumar has participated in the Asian Youth Para Games 2021 taking place in Manama, Bahrain, and won a Gold medal. It is also called as 4th Asian Youth Para Games for people and athletes with special abilities. It took place from 2nd-6th December 2021 with the inclusion of over 700 athletes belonging to 30 countries.

Karandeep Kumar being an LPU student from Ferozepur, Punjab has again made the university proud with his talent being forecasted all over the world, he has received the much-required platform and exposure for him to drive towards his goal. He is a part of the Indian contingent containing 83 members who are representing our nation on that stage. There are nine sports in total where the athletes can participate which involve Para-Powerlifting, Para-Taekwondo, Para-Athletics, Para-Swimming, Para-Badminton, Para-Table tennis, Wheelchair Basketball, and Boccia. All the athletes below the age of 23 are the ones allowed to participate in this competition and represent their nation holding their flags high. As in for India, the flag was held by Palak Kohli and Praveen Kumar during the opening ceremony.

Also, India has received 36 medals across all the games in the Para Games. Among these 36 medals won, 11 medals are gold and silver each along with 14 bronze medals. As a moment of pride for every LPUian, the GOLD MEDAL was won by one other than our very own student KARANDEEP KUMAR in the LONG JUMP T-46 EVENT. Other medal winners from India are Ashish Soni, Praveen Kumar, Hareshpur Kumar Tadhani, Vikas Bhatiwal, Ananya Bansal, Sanjay Reddy Neelam, Laxit, Kashish Lakra, Bennet Biju with the badminton team alone winning 16 medals! 3 medals each were won by Paralympians Sanjana Kumari, Palak Kohli, and Hardik Makkar, and the para shuttlers finished their campaign with a total of 16 medals.

Overall, it was a huge matter of pride for the Indians and LPU as well and just as more talents are going to be accepted and honored all over the world, more such athletes are likely to come up and show the courage of participating in big events and succeeding along with setting an example for the same.